Bookmark and Share

Bradley vs. Campbell result changed to No Contest!

The California State Athletic Commission (CSAC) has officially overruled the result of the August 1 WBO super lightweight title fight between champion Timothy Bradley and former lightweight champion Nate Campbell. The bout was originally ruled a third round TKO in favor of Bradley, when the ring side physician declared that Campbell could not continue following the end of the third round due to a cut that was caused by an accidental headbutt.

The California State Athletic Commission (CSAC) has officially overruled the result of the August 1 WBO super lightweight title fight between champion Timothy Bradley and former lightweight champion Nate Campbell. The bout was originally ruled a third round TKO in favor of Bradley, when the ring side physician declared that Campbell could not continue following the end of the third round due to a cut that was caused by an accidental headbutt. The commission has changed the result to a No Contest. Campbell's promoter Don King issued a press release regarding the CSAC's decision to change the result, also revealing his plans to congratulate California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger in the process:


“I only asked for justice for my fighter Nate Campbell, and that is what I received from the California State Athletic Commission today,” promoter Don King said. “I applaud the members of the commission for righting this wrong, and I have a phone call in to California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger to congratulate him on this important decision. “This is a victory for the boxers, the sport and the great state of California upholding the rules of justice and fair play. The fairest outcome of all is the one they chose where neither fighter’s record is blemished from a match that was halted early due to an accidental clash of heads."

According to reliable sources, Bradley and Campbell, who were in attendance at the CSAC hearing, nearly came to blows at the conclusion of the hearing. Gentlemen, save your strength and energy, put the rematch together, and finish your business inside the squared circle.

Reactions:

0 comments: